The Open Directory Project.

Directory ofCeredigion Resources

Home > Regional > Europe > United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion

This category tree is for websites based in, or exclusively about, county of Ceredigion, on the west coast of Mid Wales.
Ceredigion is a county created as Cardiganshire in 1282, but now named after the former Kingdom of Ceredigion since 1996.
The county was originally named after the principle town of  Cardigan, on the mouth of the Afon Teifi, hence the
Welsh name for the town Aberteifi.  The west bank of the estuary is administered by  Pembrokeshire, with the settlement
and abbey at  St Dogmaels.
Cardigan Island is off the coast in Cardigan Bay, north of the town, but the main road, A487, heads north east inland,
via  AberaeronLlanrhystud, to the sea-side resort and major market town of  Aberystwyth,
on the confluence of the rivers Ystwyth and Rheidol.
North of Aberystwyth the A489 continues north east inland to the boundary with  Gwynedd, at  Aberdovey,
and  Powys at  Machynlleth.
The boundary then heads inland south east to the Cambrian Mountainsm and at Llyn Brianne, Ceredigion
meets  Carmarthenshire, and the A485 from Aberystwyth leads to the south boundary town of  Lampeter
where the boundary is the Afon Teifi, flowing west , via the Carmarthenshire boundary town of  Newcastle Emlyn.
Here the boundary changes to Pembrokeshire at  Abercych and  Cilgerran, back to Cardigan.


Resources in This Category

Other Languages


Home > Regional > Europe > United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion



Thanks to DMOZ, which built a great web directory for nearly two decades and freely shared it with the web. About us