The Open Directory Project.

Directory of Regions Resources

Home > Regional > Asia > Philippines > Regions

The Philippines includes 17 official regions, including the National Capital Region (which has not provinces) and 16 regions that contain provinces. Some regions consist of many islands (the country has 7,100 islands). The two largest islands (Luzon and Mindanao) and the Visayas island group are each subdivided into multiple regions. The government defines an official region as "A sub-national administrative unit comprising of several provinces having more or less homogenous characteristics, such as ethnic origin of inhabitants, dialect spoken, agricultural produce, etc." From The regions are:


Resources in This Category

Related Categories

Other Languages


Home > Regional > Asia > Philippines > Regions



Thanks to DMOZ, which built a great web directory for nearly two decades and freely shared it with the web. About us